Presidential candidates hand over nomination papers

Accepting nominations for the upcoming Presidential Poll began this morning at the office of the National Elections Commission (NEC).

Nominations would be accepted between 9.00 a.m to 11.00 a.m today.

Among 41 candidates in the fray, 19 are from registered political parties, another 19 from independent groups and three from other political parties.

Deputy UNP leader and Minister Sajith Premadasa, SLPP candidate, former Defense Secretary Gotabhaya Rajapaksa, Parliamentarian and JVP leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake, former Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa from Sri Lanka Nidahas Podujana Sandanaya, former Army Commander, General Mahesh Senanayake from National People’s Party, Customary Presidential candidate A.S.P. Liyanage from Sri Lanka Labour Party, Duminda Nagamuwa from the Frontline Socialist Party and Battaramulle Seelarthana Thera of Janasetha Peramuna are prominent candidates among the 41.

Elections Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya and his team of officials will accept nominations from 41 candidates, who had placed deposits by noon yesterday under Section 2 and 8 of the Presidential Election Act no. 15 of 1981.

After the acceptance of nominations is closed at 11.00 a.m., objections against any candidate can be brought until 11.30.

Deshapriya has made a fervent appeal to all political parties to strictly adhere to the election laws and not to display posters, cutouts, banners, floats or any other propaganda material to promote the candidacy of any candidate other than at the ground where an election meeting is held.

However, decorations are allowed at the ground where the President addresses a propaganda rally. The processions of political parties and vehicles have also are forbidden other than at a ground where a

Deshapriya appealed to remove all cutouts banners, floats, stickers and posters displayed.

Visits: 32

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.