New Ministers sworn in

The 15-member limited Cabinet of Ministers took oaths before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa this morning.

The new government will work as a caretaker government until the next general election.

The new cabinet consists of Joint Opposition and several senior SLFP MPs.

The appointments are as follows.

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa – Finance, National Policies & Economic Affairs, Urban Dev., Buddha Sasana, Religious Affairs, Housing & Water Supply

Nimal Siripala De Silva – Justice, Human Rights & legal Reforms

Arumugam Thondaman – Social Empowerment & Estate Infrastructure Development

Dinesh Gunawardhana – Foreign Affairs, Skills Development, Employment & Labor Relations

Douglas Devananda – Fisheries & Aquatic Resources Development

Pavithra Wanniaarachchi – Women’s & Children’s Affairs, Social Security, Health Indigenous Medicine

Bandula Gunawardhana – Information & Communications Technology, Higher Education, Technology & Innovations

Janaka Bandara Tennakoon – Public Administration, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils & Local Government

Chamal Rajapaksa – Mahaweli, Agriculture, Irrigation, Rural Development, Internal Trade, Food Security & Consumer Welfare

Dullus Alahapperuma – Education, Sports & Youth Affairs

Mahinda Amaraweera – Passenger Transport, Power & Energy

Johnston Fernando – Roads, Highways, Ports & Shipping

Wimal Weerawansa – Small- & Large-Scale Enterprise Development, Industry & Supply

S.M. Chandrasena – Sustainable Wildlife, Land & Land Development

Ramesh Pathirana – Plantation & Export Agriculture

Prasanna Ranatunga – Industrial Export, Investment Promotion & Tourism

Apart from these appointments, several state Ministers are also expected to be sworn in.

You may also like...