MP raises questions on how to hold Ministries held by President accountable

Opposition MP Anura Kumara Dissanayake commented on the newly established ministries during the committee stage debate of the 2021 budget in Parliament today.

Speaking in Parliament the Minister mentioned that 8 institutions have been brought under the purview of the presidential secretariat, 10 institutions have been brought under the defense minister, 10 institutions under the minister of technology, and 4 under the minister of public security, totaling 32; all of which are held by an official not answerable to Parliament.

The JVP Leader questioned how matters in this regard can be debated in parliament in the future, and cited that the allocations of these expenditure heads are ‘irrelevant’ with the new Gazzette being proof for such.


Visits: 1036

You may also like...